Posted in Scrapbook Layouts

Class is in session…

Hello Readers,

I’d like to talk about scrapbooking inspiration. It comes in many forms; blogs, YouTube, publications, classes, Pinterest, websites, and conventions. Today I want to specifically discuss the inspiration that comes from other scrapbookers. I have a group of friends I’ve scrapbooked with twice a month for YEARS. Rarely, are we together that I don’t learn a tip, technique, or idea I can use on my own pages.

Recently, I took a class from one of my favorite scrapbook instructors Cathy Zielski. Though I am not as graphic in design, or hybrid as her style, I appreciate her penchant for simple scrapbooking and I tend to follow that philosophy on my own pages. It could be a result of scrapbooking life in a male-dominated family, or just that I’m not really much of a Foo-Foo kinda gal. This class was a repeat in topic of the class I had taken before, and though principles of design never change, technology, and products have, as did the layouts we did in class.

IMG_0515

This was a layout to demonstrate balance. I used one old and one new photo of my precious Maggie. I have lately been on a mission to pull out old products and use them… so old patterned paper (one of my favorites), an old button, and a date stamp I haven’t used in a while, but used in a new way.

IMG_0511

Again, with the old patterned paper and embellishments. Fairly new photos though, and the story is new. Stretching my use of doileys, and loving the color combination.

IMG_0509

This paper was fairly new, but old photos were used to tell the story I wanted to tell. Also used a new product on the title… that one needs more practice. It’s a process, right?

IMG_0505 IMG_0502

New photos, new story, new layout, and a reminder of the joy of using smaller photos on a layout.

IMG_0497

And a fun new way to use technology in cutting out these hearts with a downloaded file cut.

So my point… take a class and be inspired. Classes can be anywhere from pricey to free but they’re always an opportunity to learn something new. Even if you’ve taken the class before.

Until next time, It’s always a GREAT day to scrapbook!!

 

Author:

Empty-nest Mom, scrapbook designer, Golden retriever lover and therapy dog handler, what else is there?

Leave a comment