Posted in Gratefulness

A Season of Thanksgiving

Who’s hands are these?

Spray bottle

In a recent post I displayed photos demonstrating a scrapbook technique which showed my hands. My first thought; “who’s old lady hands are those?” Somehow, at the end of my arms they don’t seem quite as wrinkly and age spotted as they do in print! As typically happens, God smacked me in the head with the reminder, I have two very useful hands, for which I should be grateful! This inspired me to reflect on some of the things my hands have done for myself and others.

These hands have served countless meals to my family, football pregame dinners, years of tailgate meals to fraternity men, and to patrons of the Lord’s Diner. These hands are the preferred petting hands to a beautiful golden retriever therapy dog who I take to read to elementary school children. These hands take photos, arrange florals, decorate, garden, preserve memories through scrapbooking, and teach scrapbook classes.

These hands have raised two awesome men, make cards for those who cannot get out to purchase them. They root on my favorite sports teams, hold books to read, and play piano.

These things are all very useful and important, but probably the most special thing about these hands is that they look almost exactly like my Grammy’s, some of the most special hands I’ve known!! They were the sweet hands of a grandmother’s touch. The hands that knitted all sorts of wonderful sweaters, hats, scarves, even fashionable clothes for my Barbies! These hands made fried chicken, rubbed my back, held me on her lap so I could share my secrets.

IMG_2525

This photo is my Grammy and me. I was around 3-4 years of age, she was approximately the same age I am now. Grammy lost a battle to cancer about 5 years after this photo was taken. Because my hands look so very much like my Grammy’s, they make me feel as though we are not so far from each other. Perhaps I shouldn’t view my hands as old and spotted. Maybe, they are more like little memories at the end of my arms I have with me at all times. Now that’s something to be grateful for!

IMG_2528

Author:

Empty-nest Mom, scrapbook designer, Golden retriever lover and therapy dog handler, what else is there?

Leave a comment